Showing posts with label greenwillow. Show all posts
Showing posts with label greenwillow. Show all posts

Review: Death Marked by Leah Cypess +GIVEAWAY

Monday, March 23, 2015
Why I chose this book:
I finished Death Sworn about a couple of months ago, and knew that I had to get Death Marked ASAP, so I requested an eARC. Luckily, the publisher was kind enough to grant me access, and I devoured the book in a single sitting. I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of he book or the content of my review.



Death Marked by Leah Cypess
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Release Date: March 3rd, 2015
Format: eARC
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
B&N  ||  Amazon  ||  Book Depository



Synopsis:
At seventeen, Ileni lost her magical power and was exiled to the hidden caves of the assassins. She never thought she would survive long. But she discovered she was always meant to end up, powerless, in the caves as part of an elder sorcerer's plan to destroy the evil Empire they'd battled so long. Except that Ileni is not an assassin, and she doesn't want to be a weapon. And, after everything, she's not even sure she knows the truth. Now, at the very heart of the Empire--its academy for sorcerers--the truth is what she seeks. What she finds challenges every belief she holds dear--and it threatens her fledgling romance with the young master of assassins. (Goodreads)

Review: Death Sworn by Leah Cypess

Thursday, February 26, 2015
Why I chose this book:
Death Sworn has been in my TBR pile for a long time, so when I saw Death Marked was available as an automatic download on Edelweiss, I knew I needed to read both of them ASAP, and now that I've finished this book I can't believe I've waited this long to read this series.


Death Sworn by Leah Cypess
Publisher: Greenwillow
Publish Date: March 4th, 2014
Format: Hardback
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
B&N  ||  Amazon  ||  Book Depository

Synopsis:
When Ileni lost her magic, she lost everything: her place in society, her purpose in life, and the man she had expected to spend her life with. So when the Elders sent her to be a magic tutor to a secret sect of assassins, she went willingly, even though the last two tutors had died under mysterious circumstances.

But beneath the assassins' caves, Ileni will discover a new place and a new purpose... and a new and dangerous love. She will struggle to keep her lost magic a secret while teaching it to her deadly students, and to find out what happened to the two tutors who preceded her. But what she discovers will change not only her future, but the future of her people, the assassins... and possibly the entire world. (Goodreads)

Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Thursday, November 20, 2014
Why I chose this book:
*This was originally in the ‘meh chronicles’, but after getting a few comments on it on Goodreads, I decided to expound a bit.* I first knew Lindsay Cummings through Instagram when The Murder Complex was still a manuscript, and I was so pumped to read her book. That's why I requested the ARC. I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publish Date: June 10th, 2014
Format: eARC
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian
B&N || Amazon || Indiebound

Synopsis:
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.


The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family? (Goodreads)

Review: Stray by Elissa Sussman

Monday, September 22, 2014
Why I chose this book: I hadn’t heard much about this book, but when I stumbled on it on Edelweiss I decided to give it a go. I’m all about stories where girls break out of their sheltered lived and embrace a life of rebellion. Somedays when adulthood gets to me, I long for a bit of magic and rebellion in my own life. Unfortunately, flipping tables and running off to live in the woods doesn’t work as well in real life as it does in books. Le sigh. I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.



Stray by Elissa Sussman
Publisher: Greenwillow
Publish Date: October 7, 2014
Format: eARC
Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Young Adult 

B&N || Amazon || Indiebound

Synopsis:
I am grateful for my father, who keeps me good and sweet. I am grateful for my mother, who keeps her own heart guarded and safe. I am grateful for my adviser, who keeps me protected. I am grateful for the Path, which keeps me pure. Ever after.

Princess Aislynn has long dreamed about attending her Introduction Ball, about dancing with the handsome suitors her adviser has chosen for her, about meeting her true love and starting her happily ever after.

When the night of the ball finally arrives and Nerine Academy is awash with roses and royalty, Aislynn wants nothing more than to dance the night away, dutifully following the Path that has been laid out for her. She does not intend to stray. (Goodreads)

Review: Shadowcry by Jenna Burtenshaw

Wednesday, December 25, 2013
Why I chose this book:

   At first glance, this seems like a whirlwind of an adventure with secret books, and an interesting society and culture. Well it was at that, but was it worth the time I took to read it?

Publisher: Greenwillow
Publish Date: June 21, 2011
Format: Hardback 
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal 
Buy: B&N || Amazon || Indiebound








Review: The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Why I chose this book:

What I expected and what I read were two completely different things where this book was concerned. So many of the book blogs I follow were tripping over themselves with love and adoration for this book. I figured I should read it and judge for myself.

Publisher: Greenwillow
Publish Date: September 20, 2011
Format: Paperback 
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy 
Buy: B&N || Amazon || Indiebound







Copyright © 2014 Of Spectacles and Books
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs